I MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2005 (FIRST) Regular Session

Executive Committee Resolution No. 51

Introduced by:

J. A. Lujan
Mike Cruz
F. B. Aguon, Jr.
J. M.S. Brown
Edward J.B. Calvo
B. J.F. Cruz
Mark Forbes
L. F. Kasperbauer
R. Klitzkie
L. A. Leon Guerrero
A. B. Palacios
R. J. Respicio
Ray Tenorio
A. R. Unpingco

J. T. Won Pat

Relative to commending and congratulating the Association of Filipino Presidents on Guam on the occasion of their Eighth (8th) Anniversary.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF I

2 MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:

- 3 WHEREAS, the Filipino community on Guam has been growing and
- 4 thriving as families relocate and younger generations start families of their
- 5 own; and

WHEREAS, members of the Filipino community have initiated formal associations according to provincial and professional affinities, to celebrate common traditions, perform works of general benefit to the community at large, and promote the interest of their members; and

WHEREAS, the members of each such association has recognized and

WHEREAS, the members of each such association has recognized and placed in positions of authority and trust nominees from their own ranks, producing a growing number of recognized community leaders; and

WHEREAS, in 1997, a group of current and former elected association leaders organized to accommodate the energies, and further the interests of all past and present Presidents and Vice Presidents of the various Filipino ethnic organizations; and

WHEREAS, the Association of Filipino Presidents On Guam ("AFPOG") was duly established as a charitable organization under the laws of Guam on July 9, 1997; and

WHEREAS, the first Induction of Officers and Board of Governors was held at the Palace Hotel on August 15, 1997, under the chairmanship of Mr.

17 Ernie Cid; and

WHEREAS, since that first Induction of Officers other prominent leaders from the Filipino community have chaired the Association of Filipino Presidents on Guam, namely Jose R. Guevara, Concepcion Viray, James Robinson, and Mert Uy; and

WHEREAS, the Association of Filipino Presidents on Guam ("AFPOG") was formed to promote and enhance the professional development of its

- 1 members, and to foster camaraderie, good relationships and unity among its
- 2 members; and
- 3 **WHEREAS**, AFPOG further seeks to actively participate in community
- 4 affairs and extend assistance as its members deem appropriate; and
- 5 **WHEREAS**, the accomplishments and good works of AFPOG are many,
- 6 including contributions to the American Red Cross Guam Chapter, a
- 7 scholarship for deserving Business majors attending the University of Guam,
- 8 professional development sessions for its members, and participating in
- 9 various community activities and projects; and
- 10 WHEREAS, members of the Association of Filipino Presidents on Guam
- 11 celebrate their cumulative progress and look forward with confidence on the
- 12 occasion of the Eighth (8th) Anniversary and Induction of Officers and Board of
- 13 Governors, held on May 27, 2005 at the Guam Marriott Hotel's Chamorro
- 14 Ballroom A; now, therefore, be it
- 15 **RESOLVED**, that the Executive Committee of I Mina'Bente Ocho Na
- 16 Liheslaturan Guåhan does hereby on behalf of I Liheslaturan Guåhan and the
- 17 people of Guam, commend and congratulate the members of the Association
- 18 of Filipino Presidents on Guam, for its eight (8) years of service to this
- 19 community; and be it further
- 20 **RESOLVED**, that *I Liheslaturan Guåhan* extends its congratulations and
- 21 best wishes for continuing success and vitality to Ms. Perla Aquino Carreon,
- 22 Chairman for the 2005-2006 term; and be it further
- 23 **RESOLVED**, that the Speaker and the Chairman of the Executive
- 24 Committee certify, and the Secretary of the Legislature attest to, the adoption

- 1 hereof and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to Ms. Perla
- 2 Aquino Carreon, the incoming Chairperson of the Association of Filipino
- 3 Presidents of Guam; and to the Honorable Felix P. Camacho, I Maga'lahen
- 4 Guåhan.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF I MINA BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN ON THE 23RD DAY OF MAY 2005.

MARK FORBES

Speaker and

Chairman, Executive Committee

EDWARD J.B. CALVO

Senator and

Secretary of the Legislature